Meet With A Virginia Attorney Who Understands Driver’s License Restoration Issues
At Bounds and Bounds, PLLC, our attorneys have several decades of experience with defending driving while suspended/revoked charges and with helping habitual offenders get their licenses restored. Contact our office today for a free consultation as to how to start the process of reinstating your license or if you need representation for the charge of driving while suspended.
Striving To Get Your License Back
If you have been convicted of drug possession or a DUI/DWI and would like to obtain restricted driving privileges. Trying to do so without an experienced Virginia driver’s license restoration lawyer can be a difficult and often unsuccessful process. The lawyers at our firm have significant experience with cases that involve convincing the court to grant restricted driving privileges.
If you have been determined by the courts or the DMV to be a habitual offender, there is a procedural process that you need to go through in order for your license or your privileges to drive in Virginia to be reinstated. Our lawyers are familiar with that process, and we have helped dozens of individuals over that legal hurdle. If you have been determined to be a habitual offender because of driving revoked/suspended charges only, and all fines and costs have been paid, this is a relatively quick and simple procedure. However, if the habitual offender determination is based at all upon DUI/DWI convictions, a court-ordered VASAP evaluation is required which lengthens the process by approximately 90 days.
Driving While Suspended/Revoked
It’s not uncommon for individuals to be stopped for a minor traffic violation, which ultimately results in a much more serious charge of driving while suspended/revoked. Don’t risk driving with a suspended license. If you are convicted of driving with a suspended/revoked license the result will be fines, possible jail time, an additional loss of driving privileges, and a criminal record. It is not worth the risk. The charge of driving while suspended/revoked under VA Code section 46.2-301 is a Class 1 Misdemeanor with a maximum sentence of 12 months in jail, an additional 6-month license suspension, and a fine of up to $2,500. A third offense of driving while suspended has a mandatory 10-day jail sentence. Most courts will not impose jail time for a first-offense violation.
If you are able to get your license back prior to court and have a skilled Virginia driver’s license restoration attorney you may be able to have the charge reduced to the lesser included offense of Driving without a Valid Operator’s License under VA Code section 46.2-300 (which usually will not result in additional license suspension or jail time). Under the best of circumstances, a licensed and well-represented defendant may possibly have the charge reduced to the non-criminal offense of driving without a license under VA Code 46.2-104 which results only in a $10 fine.
DMV Drive-To-Work Program
A great resource to utilize if your license has been suspended due to unpaid court fines is the VA DMV’s Drive-To-Work program. They have attorneys on staff that can work with the courts and collection agencies to negotiate payment plans so that you can obtain a restricted license to drive to and from work.
Contact our Richmond law office today if you have issues regarding a suspended or revoked license. You can reach us by calling 804-361-3402. Our attorneys regularly serve clients across the Commonwealth of Virginia.